Can't change monster palette?

thatbear

I'm new to NESmaker, and I'm having trouble figuring out how to change monster palettes. I'm using version 4.1.5 and I've tried everything I can think of, and nothing seems to work. I can only choose from the default monster palettes. Am I missing something obvious?

Razzie.P

When creating a monster, you'd click the drop down under Sub 1 and Sub 2 to change them. If you mean changing the palette when building a screen, you'd click Screen Info > Day Monsters (or night, if that's what you're working with) Choose the Monster Group and use the drop downs there.

Hope this helps!

MonPall_001.jpgMonPall_002.jpg

thatbear

Thanks for the quick reply, but I mean I'm unable to change the colors that are set to each palette. I can change which palette is used, but the only palettes I have are all the same colors (0F, 01, 05, 30)

Mugi

when editing monsters, you can select a palette, edit it and rename it there.

palettes.png

pixeltao

I seem to be having this issue with any palette in version 4.1.5. When I click on the palette colors in the pixel editor (monster AND background palettes) or in the game object editor, nothing happens. The palette window never pops ups...

It's weird because I remember having been able to edit them in the past. I tried restarting NESMaker, but it still doesn't work.

Am I missing something? Has anyone else got this issue?

Thanks!

EDIT: Nevermind. I was using left-click instead of right-click... :oops:

BathtimeRyan

hope anyone sees this after a few months... i have a problem where i can choose wich palette i wanna use and everything but im not able to choose wich one it actually uses. the scroll bar thing is locked??

dale_coop

Staff member
If it’s for your Game Objects, it’s normal because all the game objects use the palettes assigned to the « Player » object.

If it’s for monster objects... this is strange(Can you share a screenshot?)

BathtimeRyan