Hello from Reno, NV!

MayDonutLover

Hi, I'm May! I'm already in the process of working on my first game, and I saw this tool, and thought, "This looks really helpful".
I'm an 8-bit sprite artist, and my graph-paper books will definitely show that off.
My first game is going to be a "choose your character" Dungeon Platformer, so I'm hoping this program will help me out there.

dale_coop

Staff member
Welcome MayDonutLover

Glad you joined our community :)
NESmaker is an awesome tool to create real NES games <3
I'd suggest to follow the tutorials videos on the official website (the orientation tutorial from the LEARN page... and the tutorials from the byteoff2020 page)

Can't wait to see what you will create with NESmaker
Have fun!

Hello May! Welcome and hope you have fun making your first game. Also, you can thankfully import graphics pretty easily for your project. Joe gives detailed explanations on how to import graphics in the "intermediate" tutorials. I'd recommend taking a look at those. So, if you want to import your own graphics, just substitute your saved images for the ones he loads in the tutorials. Does that make sense?

mouse spirit

An easy way is to open the correct file in nesmaker, then open your graphics in paint or photoshop or whatever, select, copy, then ctrl V on the graphics into the nemaker bmp editor.

Then make edits or correct the colors for nemaker to recognize, get rid of bad pixels.

PasseGaming